Monday, 22 March 2010

The focus has to stay on the Premier League... for now

It seems we are slipping under the radar. Our title rivals both played yesterday and it is them the papers are leading with this morning.

With Chelsea dropping points at Blackburn, Manchester United went above us in the league table with a 2-1 win at Old Trafford against Liverpool.

I didn't see or hear either game, but the reaction this morning suggest that Manchester United were lucky to be awarded a penalty and the smallest player on the pitch headed their second goal.

So Arsenal's win at the weekend goes pretty much unnoticed.

We're still two points behind off the top of the league table. Chelsea are two points behind and play their game in hand on Wednesday against Portsmouth.

Things are incredibly tight at the top. The title run in is going to be very interesting.

ChelseaManchester United Arsenal
Tuesday, 23 February 2010
20:00 West Ham (H)
Saturday, 27 February 2010 12:45 Manchester City (H)
17:30 Stoke (A)
Saturday, 6 March 2010
15:00 Wolves (A)15:00 Burnley (H)
Saturday, 13 March 2010 15:00 West Ham (H)
15:00 Hull (A)
Sunday, 14 March 2010
13:30 Fulham (H)
Saturday, 20 March 2010

17:30 West Ham (H)
Sunday, 21 March 2010 16:00 Blackburn (A)13:30 Liverpool (H)
Wednesday, 24 March 2010 19:45 Portsmouth (A)

Saturday, 27 March 2010 15:00 Aston Villa (H)15:00 Bolton (A)15:00 Birmingham (A)
Saturday, 3 April 2010 12:45 Manchester United (A)12:45 Chelsea (H)15:00 Wolves (H)
Saturday, 10 April 2010

12:45 Tottenham (A)
Sunday, 11 April 2010
13:30 Blackburn (A)
Monday, 12 April 2010 20:00 Bolton (H)

Saturday, 17 April 2010 17:30 Tottenham (A)12:45 Manchsester City (A)
Sunday, 18 April 2010

13:30 Wigan (A)
Saturday, 24 April 2010

17:30 Manchester City (H)
Sunday, 25 April 2010 16:15 Stoke (H)14:00 Tottenham (H)
Saturday, 1 May 2010 15:00 Liverpool (A)15:00 Sunderland (A)15:00 Blackburn (A)
Sunday, 9 May 2010 15:00 Wigan (H)15:00 Stoke (H)15:00 Fulham (H)




Played303131
Points656967
Goal Difference424740

The manager was asked whether we were worthy champions because we haven't beaten either Manchester United or Chelsea.

He said:
"The same thing happened to Manchester United last year.

"Ideally, you would want to win all 38 games and then everyone would say 'they deserve it.' But you never have the perfect run-in.

"We are in a position where we can show to people that we have improved. We've improved our consistency. I don't know where we will finish but let's go for it."


While our captain is only interested in our next game.

He said:
"We are only thinking about Birmingham [Arsenal's next opponents]. There is a lot of time to think about Barcelona. Our first priority is Birmingham and that it is the sign of champions, taking things game-by-game."

Which is good to hear because there is plenty of time to talk Barcelona after we've beaten Birmingham next Saturday.

No comments:

Post a Comment